List of 29 Indian States and Capitals

If you want to know the details about the list of States and Capitals of India then you are at the right place.

India comes at the second number in terms of the most populated countries are there currently in the world having more than 1.4 billion people and located in the Southern Asia region. India is also the largest populous democratic country in the world.

Being the largest democratic country It is not possible to manage the entire country from a single place by a single governing body. Indian constitution has given the power to the Indian government to divide the country into further small areas that will be managed by the other governing Bodies at a smaller scale.

By using the constitutional power Indian government announces new states and territories from time to time. Indian Parliament can take some below-mentioned decision if there is any need.

  • Announcement of new states.
  • Diminish the area of any State.
  • Change the name of any State:
  • Announcement of new union territories.
  • alter the boundaries of any State.
  • Make a separate territory from any current Indian state.
  • Separating territory by merging two or more states/ union territories.

Currently, there are 29 states and 8 Union Territories in India.

Please find below the list of Indian States.

S. No.State of IndiaCapitalDate of establishment
1Andhra PradeshAmaravatiOctober 22, 2015
2Arunachal PradeshItanagarFebruary 20, 1987
4BiharPatnaJanuary 26, 1950
5ChhattisgarhRaipurNovember 1, 2000
6GoaPorvorimMay 30, 1987
8HaryanaChandigarhNovember 1, 1966
9Himachal PradeshShimlaJanuary 25, 1971
10JharkhandRanchiNovember 15, 2000
11KarnatakaBangaloreNovember 1, 1956
12KeralaThiruvananthapuramNovember 1, 1956
13Madhya PradeshBhopalNovember 1, 1956
14MaharashtraMumbaiMay 1, 1960
15ManipurImphalJanuary 21, 1972
16MeghalayaShillongJanuary 21, 1972
17MizoramAizawlFebruary 20, 1987
18NagalandKohimaDecember 1, 1963
19OdishaBhubaneswarJanuary 26, 1950
20PunjabChandigarhNovember 1, 1966
21RajasthanJaipurNovember 1, 1950
22SikkimGangtokMay 16, 1975
23Tamil NaduChennaiJanuary 26, 1956
24TelanganaHyderabadJune 2, 2014
25TripuraAgartalaJanuary 21, 1972
26Uttar PradeshLucknowJanuary 26, 1950
27UttarakhandGairsain (Summer)
Dehradun (Winter)
November 9, 2000
28West BengalKolkataNovember 1, 1950

Union Territories and Capitals

Currently, there are 28 States and 8 Union Territories in India. Recently the Parliament of India passes the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, on 5,6 August 2019. Indian Parliament has re-constituted the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir as two union territories, ‘Jammu and Kashmir’ and ‘Ladakh’, with effect from 31 October 2019. Currently, India has 8 Union Territories.

Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/UT of India has a unique demography, history, and culture, dress, festivals, language, etc.

Please find below the list of Union Territories in India.

Union Territories NamesCapitalFounded on
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 Nov. 1956
ChandigarhChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 Jan. 2020
DelhiNew DelhiFebruary 13, 1931
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct 2019
LakshadweepKavaratti1 Nov. 1956
PuducherryPondicherry1 Nov. 1954
LadakhLeh31 Oct 2019

Also, Check:

Current Education System and governing legislation in India.
Job security in India vs COVID 19 Corona Virus


  1. The Constitution of India Part I, National Portal of India, Accessed on: Sep 9, 2020. [Online]. Available:
  2. The Constitution of India – First Schedule, National Portal of India, Accessed on: Sep 9, 2020. [Online]. Available:
  3. States and Union Territories, Know India, Accessed on: Sep 9, 2020. [Online]. Available:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.